A-ha Moments


 Have you ever had one of those moments of clarity, where something you’ve pondered on for far too long suddenly makes PERFECT sense? I believe Oprah Winfrey calls them “A-ha moments”. Whatever they’re called, they are definitely life changers…for me, anyway.

When those moments come along, it feels almost as though a light bulb has been switched on inside of my head, illuminating the thought and placing it under a microscope so that I can see every detail up close and personal. Suddenly, whatever problem I’ve been tossing and turning about at night makes so much sense that my heart actually feels a sense of peace about it. It reaffirms my belief that there is a reason and purpose for everything that happens to me…whether I figure out what that reason is or not!

It happened to me last week in ethics class, and then again this week in the job seekers network class. Chef Jeff Igel teaches my ethics class. In addition to being my academic advisor, he’s an awesome, caring man (please don’t tell him I said that because I think he enjoys his reputation as a hard-nosed instructor), so I truly respect what he has to say as far as my educational and life goals are concerned. He was discussing how our life should be filled with little stepping stone goals, which ultimately lead us to the “Mount Everest” of our life…our primary goal and purpose for being in our chosen industry. He stood in front of us and asked:

THIS IS YOUR LIFE. ARE YOU WHO YOU WANT TO BE?

Then he pulled down the projector screen and played this video for us.

After the video ended, as I wiped the tears from my eyes, I heard a collective sigh across the room. I guess I wasn’t the only one who had experienced an “a-ha moment”.  How odd that my moment of clarity came in the form of a video, testifying to the fact that up until now, I have NOT been who I’ve wanted to be…but reassuring me that now I’m well on my way. I thank God for yesterdays that can be left behind and wonderful moments in today that allow me to work towards a bigger, brighter, bolder future. I’m living my dream, fulfilling my passion, and walking my road to a happy destiny. It’s AWESOME to think that I can give my all to making a positive difference in the lives of other people and it will come back full circle and enrich my own life as well!

Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back again soon.  In the mean time, may you be safe, happy, healthy, and well fed!

BECCA

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 12:27:45

    Wow Becca!! Awesome post and really makes you think! I swear you could write a book with posts like this! Thank you so much because everything you write I really take a lot away from it!!!

    Reply

  2. Brian Donovan
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 13:07:48

    Loved the post, but you mentioned a video? Maybe some of us would like to have that “Aha” moment out of it, too. Great job on the blog. I’m so proud of you!

    Reply

  3. Barb
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 21:34:05

    Great blog post, Becca! Makes one really stop and think and focus on what’s important!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: An Incredible and Inspirational Man « A Fox In The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

