Warm and Fuzzy Feelings


It’s been a week of warm and fuzzy feelings for me. Upon hearing that, you may be thinking that I had a tremendously successful week, right? Well, for the most part, I did…and I’ll give you those details shortly. However, part of the “warm and fuzzy” feelings I had this week involved having a head cold, which was a big bummer for this chef in training. Let me tell you, when you lose your senses of smell and taste, it makes properly seasoning a dish that you’re making quite challenging! Out of fear of losing at least 10 customers from the Fox Valley Grille lunch line respect for you, I will resist sharing the disgusting details of my symptoms, but Mr. Wonderful would likely attest to the fact that I have purchased and used enough Kleenex over the past three days to warrant a few shares of their company stock being tossed my way.

Speaking of Mr. Wonderful (a/k/a my fiancé, Brian)…He is one of the reasons behind my positive warm and fuzzy feelings this week. Brian is a Customer Advocate for iContact email marketing services, and he did so well at his job this week that he was awarded the highest commission bracket possible for his September sales! I’m sorry, but I simply had to brag. I am beyond proud of him and the job he does in providing for us.

Another warm and fuzzy feeling came when I received a perfect 100% “A” grade for the Professionalism, Ethics, and Etiquette class that I just completed. I nearly burst into tears of joy when I received my final assignment back and realized how well I had done. Our final project was to write a personal mission statement. As part of the assignment, we were to read and include at least 5 quotes from the book 50 Rules Kids Won’t Learn in School: Real-World Antidotes to Feel-Good Education by Charles J. Sykes.

 

What an amazing book! I would highly recommend it for anyone who feels that they have a good idea on what it’s truly like to live in the “real world”. I suspect that, like me, you may find a couple of extra gems to help you along the game of life. For example, Rule #8 in the book states, “Your navel is not that interesting. Don’t spend your life gazing at it.” I assimilated that to my 6th statement: I will hold my head up high and be proud of who I am, where I’ve come from, and what I believe in.

It’s likely that I will never earn a Nobel Peace Prize for making the world a better place, but I will always be proud of myself for caring enough to try. Would you like to join me? Let’s MAKE A DIFFERENCE!

I hope that you’re as hungry to receive this week’s recipe as I am to provide it to you! I think I’ll stick to the topic of the week. When you think of “warm and fuzzy” food, what’s the first thing that comes to mind? For me, it’s “fuzzy” peaches. Warm up a few and you’ve got yourself an awesome dessert waiting to happen. This recipe comes from a favorite food blogger of mine, Michelle, author of Brown Eyed Baker

Have a super week and I hope you come back to visit again soon. In the meantime, may your heart, soul, mind, and stomach all be well fed and happy!

BECCA


Peach Crumb Bars

Yield: 24 bars

For the Dough:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cold
1 egg, lightly beaten

For the Filling:
5 cups diced or sliced peaches (about 7 peaches, peeled)
2 tablespoons lemon juice
½ cup all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
¼ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a 9×13-inch baking pan.

2. For the Dough: In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Use a pastry blender to cut in the butter, and then the egg. The dough will be crumbly. Pat half of the dough into the prepared pan. Place the pan and the remainder of the dough in the refrigerator while you prepare the filling.

3. For the Filling: Place the diced (or sliced) peaches in a large bowl and sprinkle with lemon juice. Mix gently. In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Pour over the peaches and mix gently.

4. Spread the peach mixture evenly over the crust. Crumble the remaining dough over the peach layer.

5. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until the top is slightly brown. Cool completely before cutting into squares.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle @ Brown Eyed Baker
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 13:01:11

    Thanks for including my recipe, it sounds like you’ve had a great week! Hope your weekend is fabulous too!

    Reply

  2. Barb
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 06:39:49

    Hope you’re feeling better soon, Becca! It was awesome to see you at the open house event at the college this week.

    Reply

  3. Arline Kemp
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 04:52:50

    Tłumaczenia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

