R.I.P. Becca


This is a news breaking day in history. On this day, we are saying goodbye to our friend, Becca Heflin. In all due respect for the recently deceased, it would be appropriate to say that she’ll be missed, but I’m afraid making that statement would be a big freaking lie.

EXCUSE ME?!?!

OK, so I’m not deceased in the oxygen-depleted sense of the word, but the unemployed, depressed, panic-stricken-every-time-rent-was-due Becca is GONE! She’s DEAD and BURIED. Yep, you read that correctly… I am once again gainfully employed!!!! (Incidentally, I understand, acknowledge, and appreciate that over-punctuating one’s enthusiasm in a sentence can be annoying as all get-out to the reader, but please indulge me… I’m on a mental high and punctuating my little heart out makes me OH so happy at the moment!)

Please feel free to stand, cheer, and dance along as I now perform my official Peanuts © “happy dance”.

 


What does this mean for little old moi? Well, my friend, it means that I will be on that seemingly never-ending search for more time in my days and nights. (Hmm, I do believe I’ve blogged about that before. I sense a continuing trend.) The job is only part time, but the hours I’ll be working fit perfectly around my current class and work study schedules at school. What’s even better is that my position (front desk clerk at a local hotel) will allow me to gain hospitality industry experience while I am still enrolled in school. This should prove to be incredibly beneficial upon graduation! One of my long term goals is to work as an event/catering manager in a hotel or banquet facility, and this job will definitely help me progress towards that goal.

I need and want to give kudos to an incredible group of people who have provided me with the much needed prayer, emotional (and in some cases, financial) support, knowledge, advice, and love that I needed to keep me from completely losing my sanity (and the roof over my head) since losing my job just over two years ago. In no particular order, an enormous THANK YOU goes to:

  • My academic advisor, Chef Jeff Igel
  • My work study mentors/advisors, Barb Dreger and Casey Britten
  • My Job Seekers Network instructor, Chris Czarnik and the entire employment services department
  • The FVTC counseling center
  • The FVTC student life office
  • The FVTC scholarship foundation office
  • My very dear online friends: From HAPPINESS INSIDE: Steven Polakoff, Gordon Simmons, and Tracy Brown. Incidentally, Happiness Inside is one of the most incredibly uplifting and inspirational websites I’ve ever encountered. There are groups for everything from pet lovers to cooks to world travelers, there are forums for motivation and emotional support, and great tips on how to stay happy and spread the infectious enthusiasm. For me, it’s a great big virtual hug! I’d also like to thank my friends, Betty and Rhett Mullis, Kim Piccione, Kari Taylor, and Lisa Hill. You have all been my lifesavers, and I am forever grateful.

Most of all, I’d like to thank my best friend and partner for life, Brian Donovan. Without his daily love, encouragement, and support for and of me, I could have easily ended up an empty shell of a woman. I love him with every fiber of my being! I will also be remiss if I don’t acknowledge that NONE of this incredible news would have been possible were it not for the almighty love of my God in Heaven and His son, my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. To God be the glory for the great things He has done!

 

Now, in true Halloween fashion (and OH so appropriate for a “funeral”), I offer up two recipes for you. The first is for a yummy “mummy meatloaf”. I think it would be an adorable and delicious Halloween night entrée:


You can get the recipe for the meatloaf here: http://www.theknead4speed.com/2010/10/meatloaf-like-mummy-never-used-to-make/

 

The next recipe is super easy and would make a great treat for any Halloween table. Get your drool factor on with this “ghosts in the graveyard” dessert:


You can find the recipe for this ghostly delight by clicking HERE

I hope that you have a safe, happy, and wonderful week. If you celebrate Halloween, I hope that you have a safe and enjoyable day. Please come back to see me soon!

Oh, and a quick reminder (or news if you haven’t read last week’s post), I have applied for a 6-month contract job as a “Good Mood blogger” for Nature Made. I need daily votes to keep me in the top 20 for a shot at phase 2 of the application process. Daily voting for Phase 1 is open until November 11th. If you’d please vote for me and spread the word to everyone you know to do the same, I would truly appreciate it. You can vote by clicking HERE or by clicking on the Widget located to the right of this blog post. THANK YOU!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brian Donovan
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 15:45:44

    I’m sure I’ve said this many times before, but I am so proud of you and can’t help but support you for as much as I’m in love with you! You’ve worked so very hard at your studies and all you do. This blog is just another fine example of your work.

    Reply

  2. barb giglio
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 16:41:55

    yay!!! great news….. don’t know you personally but prayed for you. love reading your blog! God bless! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Gordon Simmons
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 19:32:25

    Becca–How wonderful to hear your news! I saw your post on the daily gratitude journal and couldn’t wait to come over and read your blog. It’s so great when all the pieces fit, isn’t it. A part time job that is within your area of interest and that fits into your school and study schedule? How great is that!

    Congrats! I can’t think of someone more deserving!

    Cheers for now,
    Gordon

    Reply

  4. Kari Taylor
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 19:46:33

    I think you ROCK, SweetPea! I am so very happy for you. You are a rare person who touches the lives and hearts of SO many people with everything you do.

    This is just another one of those, I honestly don’t know where you get all your energy! Oh, wait a minute, yes I do — that elder Brother of ours, Jesus Christ.

    How He loves you too~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

