For Better or Worse


I can’t believe that this year is almost over. It’s been a whirlwind of a term at school, proving to be quite the challenge for me. I can now admit that going against the advice of my academic advisor and choosing to carry 21 credits was an INCREDIBLY bad decision on my part. Along with holding a part time job, I also held this work study job as a student blogger, and I worked as a student ambassador for FVTC. That alone may have been a tough task for the healthiest of people, but I was far from healthy this year, which made things a bit tougher than normal. 2010 brought many physical, emotional, and financial challenges to my plate, so truthfully, I’m not too sad to see it go. I’m great at multitasking, but good grief, a girl can only take on so many crises at one time. However, I’m grateful for the opportunity to have learned and grown from the negative experiences I’ve had this year.

Moral of the story: Nobody ever told me that life would be easy, but I have been told that if I try to look at my glass as half full rather than half empty, I’ll find more joy in the everyday moments of life. Here are some of the joyful everyday moments I’ve had this year:

BEING REUNITED WITH MY KIDS FOR THE DAY, AFTER A 5 YEAR ABSENCE! (June 2010)


 

WINNING BOX SUITE TICKETS TO A MILWAUKEE BREWERS GAME AND GIVING THEM TO MY BEST FRIEND FOR HIS BIRTHDAY (August 2010)



 

CULTURAL CUISINE EVENT AT FOX VALLEY TECHNICAL COLLEGE (February 2010)


So in keeping with the theme of “when life hands you lemons, make lemonade”, I give you this week’s recipe, which may also prove to be a fitting fixture on your holiday cookie plate this year. It’s from one of my favorite recipe websites (and magazines) Taste of Home. I hope you enjoy these Dipped Lemon Spritz Cookies. The photo below is courtesy and property of Taste of Home

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention For Better or Worse « A Fox In The Kitchen -- Topsy.com
  2. Brian
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 19:35:44

    I’ve been honored to share every last bit of it, too, Darling. You are the one who always manages to turn my mood from half empty to half full, too. Here’s to 2011 and what we pray is an even better year in this journey of life together! I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

