New Year’s Bliss


HAPPY 2011 to all of my readers!  I hope and pray that you had safe and joyous holidays. 

I can hardly believe how quickly the end of the year flew by.  I dealt with some pretty serious health issues from Thanksgiving through New Year’s, so it’s wonderful to be here back in my blogging chair in decent health again. 

Classes for the spring 2011 term begin next Monday.  I cannot WAIT for the new term to start!  I’m super excited to be finished with all of my culinary rotation classes.  I’ve got another pretty heavy credit load this term (19 credits), but I’ll be sitting down through all of my classes this time around.  That should make it much easier for this old body to stay in good health.  I’m taking some tough courses…hospitality/business law and business math…UGH, but at least I’ll have some extra time to do homework, and the courses I’m taking this term are all geared toward my Associate’s degree in hotel and restaurant management.  I’m on schedule to graduate from the Culinary Arts program as well as the Hotel/Restaurant Management program in December of this year. 

For those volunteer taste testers of mine who may be concerned that my love of food and cooking has dwindled, FEAR NOT.  I may have moments of insanity in my life, but I’m not certifiably crazy!  I’ll still be cooking up a storm at home and bringing you in great treats to force down your throat give me your opinion of. J

Speaking of food, I pulled out my Internet surf board over the holidays (thank GOODNESS I had Internet access during my hospitalization or there could have been some serious net withdrawal going on!) and found that there are some incredibly creative foodies and bloggers out there.  Here are a few of my favorites:

                   

                  

     

             

     

My absolute favorite is this one.  I would LOVE to have the hand/eye coordination and artistic talent to pull off a batch or two of these!

 

I also recently entered a couple of recipe contests online.  With the Green Bay Packers headed to Atlanta for a little Falcon pigskin action tomorrow, I submitted a recipe for one of my favorite football party foods, so I thought I would share it with you here.  This buffalo chicken dip is a huge hit at my house and I hope it will become one of your favorites, too!

BUFFALO CHICKEN DIP

INGREDIENTS:
8 oz. pkg. cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup blue cheese or ranch salad dressing
1/2 cup any flavor hot sauce
1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese or shredded mozzarella
2 cans (9.75 oz. each) Chunk Chicken Breast in Water, drained

DIRECTIONS:

1. HEAT oven to 350°F. Place cream cheese into deep baking dish. Stir until smooth.
2. MIX in salad dressing, hot sauce, and cheese. Stir in chicken.
3. BAKE 20 min. or until mixture is heated through; stir. Garnish as desired. Serve with crackers or vegetables.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention New Year’s Bliss « A Fox In The Kitchen -- Topsy.com
  2. Tracy Brown
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 19:46:29

    Oh Becca – those are a riot! LOL! There are some creative (and slightly twisted) food artists out there indeed. 🙂

    I have a similar Buffalo Chicken Wing Dip recipe – I’m drooling just thinking about it (a la Homer…. wing dip…) Have you ever used Frank’s Red Hot Sauce? It’s my favorite one to add. We also serve ours with Tostitos Scoops and sticks of celery.

    But I can’t believe you are heading back to school already. Wow! Time flew by! But I am excited for you and know you will do fabulously. We’ll all be cheering you on over at HI!

    Hugs,
    Tracy

    Reply

    • beccacit
      Jan 15, 2011 @ 18:36:24

      Tracy,
      I LOVE Franks Hot Sauce! There are LOTS of varieties to choose from, but Franks gives me just the right amount of bite without too much vinegar taste.

      I’m a Buffalo wing fanatic… but they have to be the ORIGINAL Buffalo wings. Those are the type that are baked first and then flash deep fried to make them a little bit crispy…and then sent for a swim in the sauce. They MUST be wet and messy to be awesome in my book. Anything else is just plain old spicy fried chicken.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

