When a Nook isn’t a Nook


After conducting a LOT of research on the Amazon Kindle and Barnes & Noble Nook e-readers, I took the plunge several weeks ago… into the crystal clear waters of Nook ownership. I bought the Nook Color, and I was as excited as a kid on Christmas Eve, but not for ordinary reasons. Truth be told, I really don’t enjoy reading much. Other than cookbooks, that is. I hate reading because I have the attention span of a 2-year old…and the eyesight of an 82-year old. It’s pathetic, really, but I’ve learned to adapt. Anyway, I bought the Nook for two specific reasons… it has Android app functionality (at the time, I had a Blackberry phone and was jealous of everyone with a Droid or iPhone)… and because the salesperson eloquently explained that I would be able to purchase textbooks for use on my new Nook reader. I was sure he had taken some form of illegal drug before making that statement. I retorted… “Are you serious?! I won’t have to squint to read the font in my 350 page law books anymore, I’ll be paying 30-40% less for e-textbooks than I had been for traditional textbooks… AND I’ll finally be able to play Angry Birds and Words with Friends?! Where’s the nearest cash register??

CHAPTER 2: The Sucker Punch

Many nights were spent in bliss as I downloaded fun, free and completely frivolous apps to my Nook. I even had access to some great magazines like Taste of Home and Martha Stewart Living, while doing my part to keep the earth green (and my living room a little less cluttered.) All the while I looked forward to this week… when my financial aid funds for the fall term would be available and I could finally experience a decent savings on my textbooks. As with any good book, life must also hold a big bad villain. In this case, the salesman at Barnes & Noble was the nasty guy. He either didn’t know his product well, he out-and-out lied to get the sale, or he knowingly misled me, because I learned this morning that unfortunately, none of the textbooks sold at the FVTC bookstore are available for reading on a Nook. *Insert waterworks of sadness here* I pleaded with the sales associate at the bookstore to tell me that she was wrong…all the while believing that it was just an enormous misunderstanding. No such luck. What I COULD do, she informed me, was to download the NookStudy software from the Barnes & Noble website onto my home computer and/or laptop. THEN I’d be able to purchase and use the e-textbooks. In no way, shape, or form do I wish to tote around a laptop, case, and cables all day long. Then try to cram them into my locker while I go to cooking classes. So, I reluctantly purchased paper editions of my textbooks and walked out of the bookstore cursing the skies above.

I still don’t get why the software is called NookStudy when it has absolutely NOTHING to do with the Nook, but whatever – life goes on. Since my new Samsung Mesmerize does everything the Nook does, plus 100,000 other things, Brian has claimed ownership of the Nook, proving once again that great books AND life offer happy endings… Now I just need to convince him to accept my Words with Friends request!

I’d better make sure that you’re comforted well after such a sad story. Make a pan of this…. It always helps make me feel better!

OVERSTUFFED MEATLOAF

To make the stuffing

1 Tablespoon butter
1 cup uncooked baby spinach
1/4 cup diced zucchini
1/4 cup diced mushrooms
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup ricotta cheese
1 egg
1/4 cup bread crumbs

Melt butter over medium heat in a large sauté pan. Add zucchini, mushrooms, and onions and cook about 3 minutes, until onions are softened. Turn off the heat and add the spinach, tossing until wilted. Let cool slightly, and then place into a bowl. Using your hands, combine with the ricotta cheese and egg. Layer the mixture in the middle of the meatloaf mixture (recipe shown above) and proceed with meatloaf recipe.

To make the meatloaf

1 lb ground beef
1/4 red onion, diced
1 egg
1/3 cup bread crumbs
3 Tablespoons chili sauce
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/4 cup diced tomato
1/4 cup shredded cheddar jack cheese

Combine all ingredients except tomatoes and cheese in a large bowl, then separate into two equal portions. Place 1 portion into the bottom of a greased loaf pan. Place filling on top of mixture (recipe below) and top off with remaining meatloaf mixture.
Bake at 375 F (325 convection) for 40 minutes. Place diced tomato and cheddar cheese on top of the loaf and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dahliadd
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 09:15:04

    That really stinks….shame on B&N!!!! I would send out a complaint letter to your local b&N as well as headquarters!! I recall how expensive texts are 😦

    Your meatloaf recipe sounds yum…cheese!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

